

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

2014-12-23

Mr. Geoffrey Young Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Sir:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro - the Board's Investigation and Hearing into Supply Issues and Power Outages on the Island Interconnected System – Outstanding Requests for Information

In response to the Board's letter of November 21, 2014 Hydro wrote the Board on November 27th setting out a proposed schedule for the setting of Phase Two RFIs. In its letter Hydro stated that responses to all outstanding RFIs would be filed on December 17, 2014 and proposed January 8, 2015 as the deadline for filing the next set of RFIs.

The December 17th deadline has passed and the Board notes that 19 RFIs are still unanswered, including 17 for Newfoundland Power and two from the Grand Riverkeeper Labrador Inc. Hydro has not provided a satisfactory explanation for the delay in answering these questions. The Board is concerned with the lack of response from Hydro and the ability to meet its schedule going forward. The Board requires Hydro to advise immediately when it intends to file the responses to the remaining RFIs. If dates cannot be provided, Hydro must explain in detail the reasons why it has not answered the RFIs as indicated in its November 27th letter and why a response date cannot be provided at this time.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jglynn@pub.nl.ca or telephone, (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

ecc. Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com Mr. Ian Kelly, QC, E-mail: ikelly@curtisdawe.com

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Thomas Johnson, E-mail: tjohnson@odcaearle.ca

Ms. Colleen Lacey, E-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca

Mr. Raman Balakrishnan, E-mail; rbalakrishnan@odeaearl.ca

Mr. Danny Dumaresque

Mr. Danny Dumaresque, E-mail: danny.liberal@gmail.com Mr. William Kennedy, E-mail:wkennedy@kennedylawoffice.ca Island Industrial Costomer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca

Grand Riverkeeper® Labrador Inc.

Ms. Roberta Frampton Benefiel, E-Mail: rebnfl@gmail.com Mr. Charles O'Brien, E-mail: E-mail: bluegreenlaw@gmail.com

Mr. Philip Raphals, E-mail: Philip@centrehelios.org